Focus II: Devolution in the UK - a Disunited Kingdom?

Devolution is the term given to a policy of transferring power from the central government to regional administrations. In a UK context this usually means from Westminster to the constituent parts of the union, or at least the three smaller parts – Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.

Read more in Access to English: Social Studies, pp. 277-291. Then work with the tasks in the textbook and here on the website.


Brexit May Be Scotland's Chance at Independence

Analysis from Bloomberg.

Is this a future model for the Irish border?

The BBC visits the border between Norway and Sweden.